Home-made Multigrain Porridge Mix/Health Drink Mix/Sathu Maavu

sathumaavu

This post had been lying in my drafts since April 2015. And now I wanted to post it to help many mothers.I have been drinking this regularly for around 5 years continuously since I stopped having milk. I really had thrown this away in childhood .Please mothers don’t let your kid miss these. And I request you to prepare the mix at home.You can make many versions of porridge with this like with/without milk,sweet/salt ,with buttermilk. These are the ingredients which my mother,grand mother have been using. My mother/MIL used to send/bring me the ingredients which I don’t get easily at Hubli and we prepare it here. (It is so cheap when prepared at home and stored).There is one another version where they use sprouted grains. I shall post it shortly.I did some research on it before I could post. Here are the insights. I request you to please read these for a minimum of two times and consider them

It is a wholesome drink that gives you constant energy than any other drink.

It is ideal/essential for toddlers above 2 years,pregnant women and lactating mothers.

This is not like “home made instant food mix”. You cannot/should not mix it with hot water instantly(just like the farex/cerelac/nestum) and provide your baby. You definitely have to cook it for a minimum of 10 minutes.

You can store it for 2 months in an air tight container(out of reach of ants) outside and even 1 year in refrigerator if you skip adding cashews.

sathumaavu

Ingredients:

  • Black gram-1/4 kg
  • Red rice-150 gms
  • Soya-150 gms
  • Corn pearls-100 gms
  • Sorghum-100 gms
  • Fried Bengal gram-200 gms
  • Pearl millet-300 gms
  • Finger millet-300 gms
  • Green gram-1/2 kg
  • Sago-100 gms
  • Cashews-25 gms
  • Badam-100 gms
  • Cardamom-hand few
  • Dried ginger-A small piece

sathumaavu

Procedure:

1.Dry roast each ingredient separately and let them cool by spreading in plates.

sathu maavu

2.Mix all ingredients well and grind them into a fine powder in flour mills and store it in air tight containers.

P.S:

Ensure that you buy cleaned raw items. If you find impurities clean them before dry roasting.

Do have a word with your doctor before introducing any new food.

Ensure to have introduced all ingredients separately to babies before offering this.

I didn’t have stock of black gram. Hence not found in the picture.

The ratio of ingredients is purely your choice.

I skipped adding cashews as they tend to give an oily essence in due course.

Carefully roast each item separately . Do not combine dry roasting of two ingredients.

You can include ground nut ,horse gram , barley (each 25 gms to 50 gms ) if you wish.

When you prepare for the first time ,prepare a meager quantity and make a trial of usage before stocking a large quantity.

You can have a cycle and keep changing the millet varieties each time if you wish.

The colour depends on many factors. So please don’t take that as a factor.

Do you like my recipe ? If yes, please do not forget to stay tuned with me by following by blog here and liking my facebook page at www.facebook.com/KitchenKathukutty  or follow me on Twitter. Do share this with your kith and kin. Do feel free to write to at kitchenkathukutty@gmail.com for any queries.

13 thoughts on “Home-made Multigrain Porridge Mix/Health Drink Mix/Sathu Maavu

Leave a Reply

